The Rectory is now open…
It’s official… The Rectory is now taking bookings. It is looking beautiful with its powder painted walls, a luxury pale grey carpet, stained ground floor timbers and antique furniture and the views to the rear of the Rectory are stunning and rival even the most splendid Wolds vista.
The Rectory has been home to Rectors since 1849 when Rev Francis Charles Massingberd (1825-1873) commissioned the design from architect Francis Cranmer Penrose, although St Leonards, our local Church, actually boasts a list of continuous Rectors right from 1222!
We have celebrated the first inhabitant who went on to become Chancellor of Lincoln Cathedral by naming one of the bedrooms after him. The other four bedrooms are named after other prominent Rectors including Arthur Smith (Rector 1944-61) who introduced the community bus to take pick up parishioners and take them to Sunday services; William Oswald Massingberd (Rector 1873-1911) who wrote the definitive history of South Ormsby and of course Samuel Wesley (Rector 1691-95) who was the father of John and Charles Wesley, who founded of Methodism. The final bedroom celebrates Samuel’s wife Susannah who brought up the 19 children in a strict methodical manner, instilling in them their morals and Christian beliefs.